Source: Tallinna Linnamuuseum
Maiden Tower, first mentioned as early as in 1373, has been reconstructed several times, but its unique architecture is still based on its trapezoidal floor plan.
The name comes from the name of the tower commander at that time, Hinse Meghe, and was later adapted into Maiden Tower in English.
A defence passage running from the Maiden Tower to the cannon tower of Kiek in de Kök and Bastion Passages is a unique opportunity to explore the large renovated part of medieval and modern defence zone of Tallinn during one visit.
In the course of its history, the building has been a defence tower, a residential building and a café – some say it is still haunted!