|Address:||Obinitsa küla, Meremäe vald, Võru maakond | Show on map|
|Telephone:||(+372) 785 4113|
Construction of the Apostolic Orthodox school and church in Obinitsa began in 1897. It was eventually completed and blessed in 1904. Unique in the Baltic states, it was a two-storey building made of wood, with a bell tower. The church was closed in 1950, when it began to be used as a school.
The new church in Obinitsa is on the road leading to Piusa, next to the cemetery. Construction was started in 1950 by local priest Vileomon Talomees, with everything done to obstruct it the following year - it was not supported by the deanery of Võru County, but was supported by the Bishopric of Estonia. It was eventually blessed upon its completion in 1952 by Bishop Roman of Tallinn.
Times and prices
Is open advance bookings only
Free of charge.
- Information boards
- Free parking