Rooslepa Chapel and Cemetery
|Address:||Elbiku küla, Noarootsi vald, Lääne maakond | Show on map|
|Mobile phone:||(+372) 517 6939|
|Telephone:||(+372) 472 4350|
The ruins of Rooslepa chapel originate from the 17th century. It was originally built as a wooden chapel. The present stone chapel was built in 1834. The chapel fell apart after World War II, but the sanctuary which has by now been completely restored was recommemorated in August 2007. The chapel has a brand new belfry with the ball and weathervane. The weathervane depicts a whale with its toothed mouth open.
Interesting facts: The stone inside the chapel near the entrance waited for 10 years to return to its original place. The stone is unique for the autograph by the father of the present King of Sweden dating back to the year 1932.
Times and prices
Is open advance bookings only
Free of charge.
- Information boards
- Wheelchair accessible
- Free parking