Ruins of Lihula Stronghold

Lihula was appointed in 1211 by Riga archbishop Albert to be the centre of Estonia's bishopric. Instead of ancient Estonians stronghold that was on the hill a new stone stronghold was built in 1238. The owners of the stronghold were Danes, Swedes, Germans and Russians. At present time only stronghold walls are extant in ruins.
Interesting to know: So far the excavations showed that Lihula Bishop Stronghold represents one of the most unique fortifications of 13th century in Baltics. The core of it was highly placed main stronghold. In the North and West directions in addition to wall it was protected by abrupt slopes of main terrace and trench filled with water.

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
Based on 3 reviews | Write a review
  • Eipal Eipal

    Прогулялись по деревушке Лихула в августе 2013 года. Поглазели на старинную церковь и на развалины замка. От замка мало что осталось, зато теперь там есть певческое поле, где проводятся различные...

  • Kesha  U У Kesha U У

    Замок в Лихула был построен в 13 века, а окончательно развалился в 17 века. Сейчас можно побродить среди живописных развалин, где время от времени устраивают различные концерты и фестивали.

  • Michel M Michel M
    Belle petite ville

    Petite marche agréable le long des berges, bien aménagées, des couleurs et des paysages magnifiques.

Features and amenities
Share your photos by using #visitestonia