Nature Holiday in Estonia

Home > Ruins of St. Mary's Chapel

Ruins of St. Mary's Chapel

Address: Maarja tn 21, Viru-Nigula alevik, Viru-Nigula vald, Lääne-Viru maakond | Show on map
Method of payment: Cash

The ruins of St. Mary's Chapel, first constructed in the 13th century, are located in Viru-Nigula. It is thought that the chapel was built to celebrate victory over the Russians by the Livonian Order in the battle of 1268. After the Lutheran reformation the chapel fell into disuse and became a focal point for folk superstition, which led to its partial demolition in the mid-17th century and its later collapse. The ruins that remain today remind us how unique the chapel was in terms of the differences in its construction from the other chapels of the time influenced by the East.
Did you know...? *The chapel is thought to be the oldest stone sacral structure in this region of Estonia

Times and prices

Is open 24 hours

Free of charge.

Features

  • Information boards

Meals

Seminar and conference rooms