Joergen Brink wins the 41st Tartu Maraton!

20. February 2012

Joergen Brink (SWE) was the first to finish the 41st Tartu Maraton that was held on the 19th of February 2012. Brink won with 2:43:21, Daniel Richardsson (SWE) came second with 2:43:22 and the third place went also to Sweden - Jimmie Johnsson finished with 2:43:23. Best Estonian was Algo Kärp who finished with 2:45:57 (position 24). The first woman crossing the finish line was Susanne Nystroem (SWE) with 3:06:27.

Only 5,800 skiers braved the blustery conditions to compete in the full, 63 km distance in the marathon, the premier long-distance Estonian sporting event. A total of 1,800 skied the shorter 31 km distance. The total fell short of the 10,000 capacity.

Jörgen Brink finished first with a time of 2:43:21, followed by Daniel Richardsson and Jimmie Johnsson.

For almost three whole minutes, it was Sweden vs. Norway, with one Czech and Italian, before Estonian Algo Kärp crossed the line 24th.

On the women's side, compatriot Susanne Nyström crossed the line first. Swede Jenny Hansson was second. Only Seraina Boner of Switzerland slipped in third, breaking the potential Swedish double sweep.

Source: ERR News