Home > Town Hall tower and Old Thomas

Town Hall tower and Old Thomas

Address: Raekoja plats 1, Kesklinna linnaosa, Tallinn | Show on map
Telephone: (+372) 645 7900
Website: http://raekoda.tallinn.ee/visit-us/the-tower/ External link
E-mail: raekoda@tallinnlv.ee
Method of payment: Cash only

The Town Hall tower was built at the same time as the building itself, between 1402 and 1404. In 1530 a weather vane was placed at the top of the tower which the people named 'Old Thomas'. He remains one of Tallinn's most popular symbols and is considered to be the city's guard and defender. In summer, visitors to the city can climb the winding staircase up the octagonal tower and enjoy the stunning views over the Old Town and surrounding areas.

Times and prices


Is open every day: 11:00 - 18:00

Adult: from 3 €
Child: from 1 €

Exact price to be clarified by service provider.


  • Viewing platform


  • Tallinn Card


Seminar and conference rooms

Linked entries