Ööbikuoru Hydro Workshop & Museum

Ööbikuoru Hydro Workshop & Museum showcases technology that operates on energy generated by flowing water. It was constructed as a power station and workshop thanks to an enterprising man named Peeter Johanson (Saarse). It was completed around 1912 and provided power to the Rõuge school, community centre and church until 1940. In addition to producing electricity, the workshop also repaired technical equipment and agricultural machinery. The Saarse family's descendants restored the workshop to its original state in 2009 and 2010. The museum preserves all of the work benches and equipment that were powered by water. The second floor has a display of old household items.

Features and amenities
  • Guide service available
  • Estonian
  • Amenities
  • Free parking