Sillamäe was, for a long time, a secret and closed out town due to the uranium concentration plant which was built there. Our museum provides an overview of the town’s history and development. The museum was built with objects from the private collection of the shale-chemical factory.
Today, there are six different halls in the museum with an exhibition in each hall: history of Sillamäe; a 1950’s room; farm life in Vaivara parish at the end of the 18th century and in the first half of the 20th century; history of the Sillamäe factory; and a hall called ‘Muusikalaegas’ (Music chest).
The mineral room is unique thanks to its ability to provide an overview of the origin of Estonian dolomite, limestone, and granite. It is also possible to examine gems.