South Estonia

Ööbikuorg valley and Rõuge lakes

There are seven lakes at Rõuge primeval valley, which is 10 km long and 52 metres deep. The lakes include Kahrila, Tõugjärv, Ratasjärv, Kaussjärv, Rõuge Suurjärv, Liinjärv, and Valgjärv. The lakes are connected by the River Rõuge or River Ajo, which starts from the Tindiorg Valley.

Tindiorg, Külmorg, Mõhkorg, Ööbikuorg, Tinopeetri, Hinni, Sikasoo, and Järveotsa are the tributary valleys of the Rõuge Primeval Valley. The most well-known is Ööbikuorg (Nightingale Valley), which borders the ancient hillfort from the North. The valley is 300 m long and 12–15 m deep. It got its name from the singing nightingales who stay there during the springtime when bird cherries bloom. 

The Rõuge Nightingale Valley Centre is located at the edge of Ööbikuorg and provides visitors with information about nature, history, and changes in climate.


South Estonia

Opening times

All year round

Round the clock


25204 Ööbikuoru tee, Rõuge alevik, Rõuge vald, Võru maakond