Ruins of Bridgettine Convent

The history of the ruins rising above the banks of the Pirita River date back to 1407, when the largest nunnery in Old Livonia was founded here. The convent that got its name from St. Birgitta, who founded the mother convent in Sweden, survived in its original form until 1577, when the forces of Ivan the Terrible destroyed it.
At the end of the last century, several extensive excavation and conservation projects took place on the premises of the medieval convent.
The massive façade, walls, cellars and graveyard have survived until the present.
The beautiful ensemble of ruins, a popular concert venue in the summer, is managed by the sisters of the Bridgettine Order.

The history of the ruins rising above the banks of the Pirita River date back to 1407, when the largest nunnery in Old Livonia was founded here. The convent that got its name from St. Birgitta, who founded the mother convent in Sweden, survived in it

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
Based on 197 reviews | Write a review
  • look and see this

    look up it is stunning look at the work on the outside of this amazing building. not much to say because we stopped so many places it is difficult to put them all together into one sentence.

  • Huge monastery ruin

    Pirita suburb is easily reached by bus. The site is well worth a visit. In the summertime Pirita is also a popular baltic sea beach with some restaurants

  • Majestic Facade in Ruins

    This Catholic monastery stands in ruins with its original facade visible from the main road . Beside is the newly established modern cemetery . For really wonderful views drive to the back of the...


Features and amenities
Laulupidu 2017
Share your photos by using #visitestonia