Lääneotsa küla, Viimsi vald, Harju maakond
St. Laurentius Church on the island of Prangli is one of the smallest Estonian wooden churches that was completed in 1848.
Quite likely, a chapel used to stand on the same spot already a couple of centuries earlier. According to a legend, it was built by Finnish seal hunters who got stranded on the island. A storm had carried them on a block of ice to Prangli island on the feast day of St Lawrence. They determined the spot for constructing the chapel by carrying water in a sieve – the building was erected on the spot where the sieve was leaking water the best.
A fascinating fact: the walls of the church are covered with wallpaper.
Food and drinks