"Tchaikovsky’s Masterpieces" Short ballets by George Balanchine and Mai Murdmaa

Georg Otsa tänav 9, Kesklinna linnaosa, Tallinn

Buy ticket View on map

Murdmaa created her ballet as a tribute to one of the greatest Russian composers, Pyotr Tchaikovsky. His brilliant and emotional work hid a sensitive and contradictory artist. Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6 ("Pathétique") portrays perfectly the various aspects of the nature of a beloved composer but a lonely man: creative turmoil, love, self-discovery, passion and depression.

"Serenade" is a milestone in the history of dance. It is the first original ballet Balanchine created in America and is one of the signature works of New York City Ballet's repertory.

Originating it as a lesson in stage technique, Balanchine worked unexpected rehearsal events into the choreography. When one student fell, he incorporated it. Another day, a student arrived late, and this too became part of the ballet.

Times and prices
Kesklinna linnaosa, Rahvusooper Estonia, Tallinn

    "Tchaikovsky’s Masterpieces" Short ballets by George Balanchine and Mai Murdmaa

  • 22.10.2021, 19:00 - 20:40

  • 05.11.2021, 19:00 - 20:40

  • 17.12.2021, 19:00 - 20:40

  • 22.12.2021, 19:00 - 20:40

Features and amenities
Getting there
  • Signposted
  • Sealed access road
  • By public transport
  • By car
Stops nearby
Bus: Estonia
Tram: Viru
Trolleybus: Estonia
View on map